Brocelïande / Brocelïande |
Flowinglass Music FM006


1. As I Roved Out   [4:44]

2. The Joy of My Life/Out on the Ocean/Star Above the Garter   [3:10]

3. Santa Maria, Strela do Dia   [3:27]   CSM 100

4. Dulaman   [3:36]

5. Sarabande from Suite for Cello in G/Century House   [5:23]

6. Hal-an-Tow   [2:53]

7. The Broom o' the Cowdenknowes   [3:54]

8. Cantiga Medley   [5:00]   CSM 248   CSM  1   CSM 166   CSM 384
@0:00 [1:16] | @1:16 [1:11] | @2:27 [1:00] | @3:27 [1:27] @4:54

9. Blackwaterside   [3:38]

10. Il est Bel et Bon   [1:13]

11. Here's to the Maiden   [4:43]

12. My Heart doth Beg You'll not Forget   [1:23]

Brocelïande plays Celtic music from the British Isles and the Medieval and Renaissance music of the European courts, castles, and countrysides. Featuring stellar vocal and instrumental harmonies, their entrancing sound is built on the interweaving of up to 4-part vocals with the lyrical music of the Celtic harp, octave mandolin, cello, guitar, flutes, whistles, percussion, harmonica, and melodeon.
Their repertoire includes original arrangements of traditional and Early music and ranges in feel from driving, danceable Celtic beats to haunting ballads to 4-part a capella madrigals. Their lyrics, including some in Medieval French and Portuguese, speak of love and longing, quests and revels, magic and transformation, in an evocative style in the same vein as Loreena McKennitt, Clannad, and Alan Stivell.
Recent performing highlights include the Freight & Salvage, the Sausalito Art Festival, the CalTech Folk Series, and appearances on Sedge Thomson's "West Coast Live" show. Broceliande tours throughout the West Coast and has been performing since 1999.

Broceliande is:
MARGARET DAVIS — vocals, flute, Celtic harp, recorders
KARL FRANZEN — guitar, octave mandolin, vocals, whistle, harmonica, melodeon, hand-drum
KRISTOPH KLOVER — vocals, 12-string and 6-string guitar, octave mandolin, oboe
KRIS YENNEY — cello, viol, percussion, vocals

Broceliande Recordings:
Brocelïande has recorded three CDs on the Flowinglass Music label. Featuring their signature sound based on pristine vocal harmonies and richly textured instrumental arrangements, their first release, Brocelïande, showcases original and traditional arrangements of Celtic and Early music. Sir Christèmas, their second release, is the first volume of Songs of the Season, a 4-CD set featuring music traditionally performed during each of the seasons. Their latest release is Gathering May, songs of May and springtime. All CDs are available from Flowinglass Music,

Brocelïande's debut recording includes original arrangements of a variety of traditional and Early music. It ranges in feel from driving, danceable Celtic and Medieval beats to haunting, atmospherically lovely ballads to the exciting 4-part vocals of a capella Renaissance madrigals. The evocative lyrics, including some in Medieval French and Portuguese [sic], speak of love and longing, quests and revels, magic and transformation.